Why not web player?

It’s been haunting me for quite a time. Why online player client is a standalone app, ott the web app simply? I get that it must be an app for mobile devices, but otherwise? Wouldn’t it be easier to maintain one app instead of multiple for each platform?

I guess it may have something to do with streaming? Maybe channels in the browsers? Not sure. I think web browsers could handle it - especially since GM control panel is already web-based. But I am not an expert in the field of the apps development for sounds and music, so maybe I am missing something :wink:

Syrinscape is a very powerful tool often playing 20+ samples at once each with their own parameters and settings. A web browser would not be able to handle the functions that the Online Player neeeds

So Online Player Client is actually downloading and playing 20+ samples live? Not mixed? Ahhh… OK. Is this stored somewhere? I would rather prefer to warn my players it may eat up their drives :smiley:

The samples are streamed and temporarily stored to the systems cache memory. They shouldn’t take up to much space as it’s temporary and compressed

The Online player downloads the samples before playing them? That might explain why there’s such a huge delay before a music passage starts. Those files are surely much larger than a half-second sound clip.

I’m not sure how I feel about this architecture. It seems to make more send to have the heavy lifting be done on the GM’s control panel and have the receivers get a single stream with everything already mixed. That would also make the web app option practical — and in the interest of accessibility, I think that should be a rather high priority for this feature.

GM control mixing would most likely require it to either send via proxy of the Syrinscape servers - may not be easy or direct connection - not always possible (public IPs and the like).

So samples are streamed separately to the client with configuration from GM. That makes sense.