TFTYP - The Sunless Citadel

Hello!
I’m new to Syrinscape, but I’ve been DMing in Adventurers League D&D for about 7 months now. I’m itching to start running adventures from the new hardcover, and I was wondering what you guys would suggest for a sound set to use with The Sunless Citadel? I’d mention specifics about the adventure, but I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who might be wanting to play in it.

Thanks!

1 Like

Howdy! Let us see what we can put together for the Sunless Citadel… Spoilers ahoy for anyone who doesn’t want to know! So read no further if you want to remain ignorant!

So, you start in a town, so Brindle Town is your go-to place. Maybe add in Friendly Tavern if the adventurers end up in one (because when do they not?). Then they go to a buried fortress. Dungeon Depths works very well for that (maybe add some Spooky or Elements - Horror to punch up the freakiness), and then there you can use the Kobold Lair (which also has some traps) and Goblin Fight for battling those critters. Maybe a little Witchwood to give it a more “outdoorsy” feel.

Then you have the twig blights themselves. Now, as Syrinscape has yet to have many plant villains, I had to build it up, so you’ll probably want to put it in a Custom Mood. I used the Skravling Attacks from Skravling Battle (for their bloodthirsty bites), baby dragon scratches from Dragon Battle, treefalls from Storm, and (bear with me here) the fireplace element from Friendly Tavern. The snap and crackle of the fire, when not turned up too high so as to avoid hearing the subtle roar of the flames, sounds a lot like crackling twigs! Also The Spires of Xin-Shalast - Whispers on the Wind have the elements Horror Tree Steps, which would be great while they’re moving.