Syrinscape ProTip #19 - Pointers for running a live rpg show

Hi everyone! Experienced GM but Syrinscape noob here. :grin:
This message is primarily aimed at Ben and/or anyone involved with the LiveRPG+ shows.
Iā€™ve enjoyed watching the LiveRPG+ shows on YouTube and the way you ensure that everyone has a good time. My hometown is going to be hosting its first ComicCon this year and my table top gaming club is going to be involved with promoting rpgs as well. One of the initiatives we have planned is to host a live rpg show with some local personalities as guest players. My understanding is that itā€™s easier to host a game like this at a gaming convention where the audience are primarily comprised of gamers but the majority of my audience will be noobs. But what I love about the LiveRPG+ format is that EVERYONE has a chance to get involved and Iā€™m looking for oodles of fun and creative thinking from the audience. 3 out of my 4 players are also new to the experience and I would like them to be comfortable and express themselves. I have never run a live show before but I love the hobby too much to allow this opportunity to pass by. So my question is: can you offer any advice for helping to promote rpgā€™s to the masses?

Hi @alister77, welcome to Syrinscape. That sounds awesome and yes @benjamin is the pro when it comes to LiveRPG+, picture him as a small dwarf in a red robe magically appearing but with slightly more hair! :smile:

Ben will definetely be able to give you some pointers on how to run a good event and how best to integrate Syrinscape into it. That will also make a great guide for the ProTips so thanks for asking!

Syrinscape (Ben specifically) will be hosting more LiveRPG+ events this year so if you go to any of the major gaming cons be sure to keep an eye out for him!

1 Like

OK. LiveRPG+ has worked really well for us.

If you want to use the name, and link through to us, then we can cross promote for you.