Lack of Stereo Separation in Uploaded Samples

I’ve been using Syrinscape for several months now, and I have run into a problem I can’t get past. I’ve taken to uploading royalty-free music that exactly matches the mood of my game. After the music sample has been uploaded, however, and I am setting up the Element which will contain the sample, when I test the result it sounds as if it is playing back in mono.

I’ve found at least one other post here that had the same problem; at least in that case, the cause was that the element was configured using 3D Positioning, which necessarily flattens the stereo image and then places the result randomly in the sound field. I’ve ensured that I have not done this. The music I’ve uploaded is all contained in elements that are configured as Music and 3D Positioning isn’t even an option. And if it was the configuration of the element that was causing the problem, I would think that when I listen to the sample directly under the Element Playlist, it would sound as it was supposed to there. But it doesn’t; it’s mono there too. I’ve tried uploading with different formats (WAV, MP3 and OGG) and different sample rates and bit rates, but it doesn’t seem to make any difference.

It’s clear that the system is capable of providing normal stereo music, since the elements that are part of Official Content soundsets work as I would expect them to. The problem only seems to affect music and samples I’ve uploaded myself, and it seems to be an artifact of the sample upload process, not of the configuration of the element that contains the sample. Am I doing something wrong when setting up my files for upload? Is there a way I can fix the samples that are already uploaded? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Heya, easy fix. :slight_smile:

Go to the actual sample by focussing on it in the element playlist and open the SAMPLE INSPECTOR tab (by click those words at the top right).

Here you UNCHECK the “Enable 3D positioning” checkbox.